Murder Mystery: Not so bad at all

This storyline, while it’s had its ups and its downs, has been pretty relaxing for me to watch. I like that there is no real Scrub relationship angst, no external threats to their coupledom, just a simple mystery adventure! Sure, it’s not the same type of escapades that Anna and Robert used to get themselves into but its something different for Scrubs. A nice change from recent arcs and it’s kept me entertained and completely unafraid in terms of their relationship or survival.

I’ve enjoyed watching Robin return to some sense of normalcy and behaving in a way that seems largely true to character, healthy, happy and in love again. Seeing Emma all sweet and adorable is something I live for! Those babies are just beyond beautiful. Then there is Martha Byrne’s fantastic portrayal of Andrea Floyd (a far cry from her role as Lily on ATWT), and of course our Scrubs; back to their bantering and flirty ways. Honestly, any storyline that keeps these two from the clutches of third partyville is fine by me. They've been the exception to the rule and it's a blessing to have a staple like that in Daytime, let alone real life. I know the entire arc hasn't been perfect. Sure the air-time is always an issue and there have been some holes in it like for example, where the heck is Matt? They should have him there in the midst of the story helping Robin and Patrick figure out this mess. It would have been nice to see his role go beyond the surgery and malpractice stuff. I want to see him bonding with Patrick more and how cute would it be watching Emma play with her uncle? That would have been a fun way to have Robin and Patrick working together in solving the crime and allow us to see some comedic errors with Matt taking care of Emma. This is probably my biggest issue with the whole storyline and I do almost feel a bit biased simply because I think Jason Cook is so talented. I had the chance to meet him last month and I think TPTB really need to take advantage of this actor, while they still have him. Another thing I’m wondering is, did they drop the ball or toss it aside in terms of Robin saving Alexis? I just feel like there should be more of a focus on that and follow up scenes with her and Robin. Something seems to be missing here … Finally, what’s with this whole using the baby thing to catch a killer? I know it’s a teeny, tiny plot point. But seriously, I’m sure Robin is trying to behave in a way she believes Anna would have years ago, with her, it just seems a little weird having a mother use her child’s presence to pump for information. (Give me a break on this one, I had to find more than one thing I didn’t like, o.k.?)

Bottom line as this story comes to a close is that I'd rather see this kind of material than some of the alternatives of the past. While I don't think as viewers we should have to be in the position of settling I do recognize that Patrick and Robin aren't the only characters on the canvas so I will take this over most of the other repetative plot points. It makes me grateful for loving these characters, their relationship and this arc because who knows what the future hold for them after this storyline is wrapped up.

So, what were your favorite parts of this story? What didn't you like? We want to know!!
Thanks to Beyond Reason for the caps.




















